Deseret First Duel TrophyTHE DUEL: Year 10

In 2007, BYU, the University of Utah, and Deseret First Credit Union partnered to create the Deseret First Duel, a celebration of one of the nation’s oldest and most spirited college rivalries. The 2016-17 season of the Deseret First Duel marks the tenth anniversary of this exciting competition. 

Previously there had been no established series to recognize the athletic supremacy of the Cougars or Utes. The university that wins the Deseret First Duel each year has its name permanently engraved on large granite monuments located at both schools and holds bragging rights for the following year and beyond.

How the Deseret First Duel works:

BYU and Utah compete against each other in up to 12 sports each season. They include baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, football, women’s gymnastics, women’s soccer, softball, men’s and women’s tennis, women’s volleyball, and men’s and women’s swimming. Points are awarded to the school that wins each game, meet, or match. More importantly, the school that wins the head-to-head competition in each sport is also awarded $1,000 by Deseret First Credit Union for its student-athlete scholarship fund. The university that wins the most sports at the end of the season will receive an additional $5,000 from Deseret First for its athletic scholarship fund.

BYU won the inaugural Deseret First Duel in 2008 and again in 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2016. Utah claimed the title in 2009, 2013, 2014, and 2015. 

Duel MonumentDeseret First Credit Union is proud to sponsor the outstanding athletic programs of both universities and the energetic, frenzied rivalry between them. The Deseret First Duel is a recognition of the training, determination, and competition of student athletes and the universities they represent.



Next Event: